Well I didn’t find a tiger in the bathroom…

It’s common knowledge that college students drink. A lot.

There are a select few that abstain until legality or the really admirable few that abstain altogether, but for the most part college students drink like there’s no tomorrow. Literally. We drink ourselves into stomach churning submission with absolutely no concept of the hangover the next morning because all that matters when you’re drunk is the present. It’s the right now. Sure, I’ll have another cup of jungle juice. Sure, it’s probably not advisable, but why the hell not? I feel good now.

Well, right now, it’s the morning after and let me tell you, I don’t feel so good.

My friends and I decided to throw a Halloween party last night, since it was going to be our only chance to celebrate Halloween. And like many other subcultures, Halloween has an entirely different meaning in college. In college, it’s the opportunity for women to dress like sluts without fear of social reprimand and for everyone else to drink until the wee hours of the next morning. So we decided to throw one of these ragers last night.

So what happened last night? Well, I played a game of mixed-drink pong (not advisable, but I do it every single time), I drank three cups of Katie’s non-FDA approved jungle juice, took a shot of rum, two Jell-O shots and two (and a half…? My memory gets fuzzy at this point) Smirnoff Ices. (Judge me if you want, but there’s more alcohol in a Smirnoff Ice than there is in a can of Bud Light. Just sayin.) I kept drinking and drinking and drinking.

BUT WHY? Why do we do this to ourselves? I mean really, what is the point?

Alcohol tastes horrible. It fucks with your judgment. It makes you pee and it makes you throw up and it makes the the next day hell. And for the really hardcore drinkers, you wake up in a strange bed with a strange person sleeping next to you and usually you’re naked. And if you do this often enough, you can face all sorts of problems later in life, like liver disease, kidney failure and the deterioration of healthy relationships.

WHAT IS THE APPEAL? I mean hell, I drink and I STILL DON’T GET IT.

This might just be the hangover talking, but the concept of alcohol just doesn’t make sense to me right now.

If anyone can explain it to me logically, I would appreciate it.

One Response to Well I didn’t find a tiger in the bathroom…

  1. Kristin says:

    Well, Carla, this is why several of my friends and I dressed perfectly conservatively last night, and watched Beauty and the Beast until two a.m. (: If you hate drinking so much, maybe you should try not doing it. Haha.
    Also, right under that post is an ad for “Get Alcohol Recovery” … and I found this funny.
    I love you!
    -Markles

Leave a Reply

