Thursday Three: IT’S MY BIRTHDAY!

Twenty-two years ago today, I was introduced into this world in a maternity ward in Irving, Texas. I don’t know how much I weighed or how long my mother was in labor, but it doesn’t really matter because I’m here right now 22 years later and that’s all that matters.

1. I’m twice as old today as I was when I was 11

THAT IS BLOWING MY MIND.

There are several things that I’d like to tell my 11-year-old self. First of all, Nsync is and always will be really cool. Never be afraid to admit that you love them. Second of all, your best friend is going to go through some weird goth/punk/Hot Topic-inspired makeover and she’s going to shun you because she thinks she’s popular. Don’t worry about it. She’ll come around eventually.

Also, you’re not hardcore because you listen to Simple Plan. Don’t try to be punk or goth either, because you’ll end up looking like a poser and being hyper all the time is obnoxious. But most of all, high school is seriously not as bad as you thought it was going to be — in fact, it’s going to be awesome. So buckle in and get ready because you’re in for a crazy ride.

2. My best birthdays are not behind me

I’ve been in musical rehearsal for the past week so far and I was at rehearsal this morning and JoAnn came to greet me happy birthday. Then she told me that I was old (which is a laugh because she’s four years older than I am), and that my best birthdays are behind me.

I refuse to believe that. I will make sure that every single birthday after this one will be better and better. My 21st birthday was awesome, but this year it’s going to be even crazier. By the time I’m 50, I’ll be jumping out of planes or body blading. It’s happening. I’ve decided.

3. Apparently I’m a Sagittarius now

I’ve never put much stock in horoscopes or zodiac before because I used to be a Capricorn and the Capricorn description was nothing like me, whatsoever. Capricorns are super type A and that’s not really me at all.

Well I guess Sagittarius is more my personality; according to Wikipedia, Sagittarius is a fire sign which means I’m energetic and I’m also interested in higher education. I’m also supposed to be optimistic, faithful and generally unreliable. I can see that, and that’s great and all…

…but I still don’t care.

Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes! You’re all awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

