Wedding Bell Blues

It’s wedding season!

My good friend Caleb got married this weekend and I went up to Minnesota to attend and take photos for him. And the ceremony was beautiful. I never understood why people cried at weddings until this weekend. I was lucky that the priest kept the blessings concise otherwise I would have been weeping like a maiden.

It was also my first foray into wedding photography. I have a Nikon D60 with two different lenses and I usually just like taking photos for fun. Then Caleb asked me to be the photographer and I happily accepted. I wasn’t sure what I was going to give them as a wedding gift, so this was a perfect gift.

To be honest, I was pretty nervous. I’ve never been in charge of event photography like that before and really I’m more of a hobbyist than an expert. Luckily for me, Brooke and Caleb got married in an absolutely gorgeous church on an absolutely gorgeous campus. And they’re both absolutely gorgeous people, so it all worked out very well. Not to mention I took a quick look at all my parents’ wedding photos so I had an idea of what to take.

Overall, I think I did pretty well for my first wedding. With a little more practice, I might get really good at it.

Now the hardest part: photo editing. But I’m pretty confident about that.

Leave a Reply

