Thursday Three: Thanksgiving Edition

As most of you know, I’m of the opinion that Thanksgiving is the best holiday of the year. You get a whole week off, the food is awesome, you get to spend some quality time with friends, there’s a parade and football games to watch and the original purpose of the holiday hasn’t been corrupted over the years by corporate greed.

It’s also a great time for all of us to take stock of our lives and offer thanks for the many gifts we’ve been given. So this is what I’m grateful for.

1. Family and friends (especially new ones)

Obviously I’m always thankful for my family and friends. My parents and my little brother have always had my back and they’re always there to pick up the pieces after I’ve made some pretty terrible decisions. My parents and I have had our rough patches, but without their love I don’t know where I’d be. And of course my friends have always meant the world to me. They’ve seen me through thick and thin and they’ve stuck by me through hurricanes. Which, you know, is pretty awesome.

But during my college years, I’ve made so many new friends and I’ve even managed to acquire some new family members, including an adoptive mom who is just about the coolest, most selfless and amazing woman ever, three beautiful cousin/nieces (Filipino family trees work in weird, unconventional ways) and a twin sister. I give God many thanks for them.

2. My health

I’m a relatively healthy person. I’ve never broken a bone. I rarely get colds or flus. I didn’t even get swine flu when it seemed to rampage through campus two years ago. My immune system is like a brick wall. I also don’t have any chronic or pre-existing conditions that would force me to stay in the hospital for long periods of time.

I like to think that this is mostly because I take good care of myself, but that’s really not true. I’m just extremely lucky. And I’m also thankful for that.

3. My future

At this point, my future is clouded and hazy. The Rome internship is on the back burner and I’m not entirely sure if it will happen at this point because Italy is going up in flames as we speak and there are all sorts of international, bureaucratic hoops to jump through.

However, I have a job as of now as a cashier at Target and even though I can’t see what’s going to happen past the next few months, I still have a job and I am resourceful and educated enough to know that I’m going to be fine.

So there it is. The three biggest gifts God has given me this year. I am so grateful for every single one of them and I strongly encourage all of you to take stock of what He’s given you this year and offer just one grateful thought or prayer. After all, as Meister Eckhart once said, “If the only prayer you ever say your whole life is ‘thank you,’ that would suffice.”

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

