Saturday Six: 2011 Edition

Saturday Six is a new thing. It’s also probably going to be a one-time-only thing, mostly because this is a New Year’s post and I kind of came up with it on the fly.

Anyway, since every other website, blogger, news station, newspaper, radio station and magazine is doing lists of shit that happened in 2011, I figured I’d do the same thing. I’m going to break down the three biggest things of 2011 — namely biggest book, biggest movie and biggest song — and give my take on it. Then, I’m going to give three predictions for 2012. So six in all.

1. Most popular fiction book in 2011: Hunger Games

I need not rant about how much I hate this series, mostly because the crappy writing and unoriginal premise speak for itself. Also because I’ve already ranted about it on this blog, and that blogpost just happens to be one of my top read posts. Go figure.

Anyway, despite my personal feelings, 2011 was a big year for Hunger Games. It’s been on the New York Times Bestseller list for 100 consecutive weeks since the tail end of 2010. Additionally, filming for the already predetermined piece of crap cinema feature-film adaptation began earlier this year and the trailers have already inspired anticipation and excitement for fans of the series for its release next spring.

So congrats, Suzanne Collins.

2. Biggest Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

I have yet to rant-blog about my feelings on movie adaptations of books, particularly the Harry Potter film franchise, so in a nutsehll: I hate the movies. As an actress, Emma Watson is only marginally more talented than the lip-biting Queen Emo, Kristen Stewart. Daniel Radcliffe is hit or miss (mostly miss). There isn’t a consistent actor for my favorite character, Dumbledore, so the interpretations of Dumbledore vary greatly from movie to movie and that just annoys me. Really, the only enjoyable parts of the films are when Rupert Grint is in a scene. But he’s a ginger, so he can only be so good until you remember he doesn’t have a soul.

However, my friends and fellow Potterheads have sworn up and down that the last two movies follow the book faithfully. So I’ll just have to take their words for it, since I don’t ever plan on watching them.

Anyway, the fact is that the final Harry Potter film was the biggest grossing film of 2011. But more than that, it was the end of a cultural era. It marked the end of the Harry Potter evolution. No more new books. No more new movies. HP holds a very interesting and special place in the pop culture lexicon due to its mass popularity and also the extremely long timeline. For many fans, 2011 means an end childhood.

But you know what? The minute I crack open the well worn cover of my copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I’m 11 years old all over again. So in a way, my childhood is never over.

3. Most Popular Song: “Party Rock Anthem”

So this one is the topic most up for debate and there are probably a couple people out there who completely disagree with me, but HEAR ME OUT! I defy you to find a more overplayed song of the summer. I also defy you to find a song of 2011 that has inspired more asinine Internet memes and flash mobs all over the world. Hell, just the videos of the flash mobs have as many views as the actual video.

And personally speaking, I was shuffling everyday of 2011.

All right, so for the predictions.

1. Barack Obama will win the election.

Big words, I know. But once again, HEAR ME OUT! Of our 44 U.S. presidents, 22 of them only served one term or less than one term. Out of those 22, only eight did not win reelection. The rest either died or did not seek reelection. And what did those eight who did not win reelection have in common? There was a strong third party candidate who stole enough votes to prevent a majority vote between the two main parties.

Take the most recent example: Bush Sr. failed to win a second term as president because Ross Perot ran as a third party and stole enough of the conservative votes to ensure that Clinton was elected.

So honestly, the only way Obama would lose the election is if a third party ran and stole enough of the liberal and/or democratic votes to ensure another outcome.

2. Bieber Fever will finally die.

By 2012, most of Bieber’s fanbase will mature enough to realize that real music exists. That or he’ll pull a Britney and go batshit crazy. And as his sanity takes a downward spiral, so will his career.

3. The world will end in December.

So none of this matters in the end anyway.

2 Responses to Saturday Six: 2011 Edition

  1. Jason says:

    Regarding Harry Potter: You can’t give your opinion on a film if you don’t watch it. Don’t be one of those people who is so proud of not watching a movie everyone else watched. Give in to your inner Potter, and curiosity. Otherwise, it might be best to shut your trap about how bad the movies are until you’ve seen them all.

    Regarding your predictions: 1. Likely. Very likely. The Republicans are so busy being negative (either toward each other, or Obama) that they could easily lose the interest of those…interested. How long can one watch a squabble?

    2. Oh man, I hope so.

    3. No it won’t. I’m sure you know this, but no it won’t. The movie predicted the end of the world, the Mayans did not. They simply ended their calendar at the end of a 5000 year cycle on Winter Solstice.

    • Carla Jimenez says:

      I watched the first four Harry Potter films and I couldn’t bring myself to watch the remaining four because I disliked them so much. So I’m free to give my opinion however I choose. Great thing about free speech is that not everyone has to like it, but I can say it anyway.

      Besides, the part about Harry Potter wasn’t dedicated to how much I disliked them. The part about Harry Potter was dedicated to how it’s been such a huge part of culture for the past two decades, in addition to being the highest grossing film of 2011. So read carefully next time.

Leave a Reply

