Adulthood. Oh boy. Also, I moved.

Aside from the assloads of people commenting on my Hunger Games post (and the occasional Ron Paul post), I haven’t been doing much on this blog. Sorry! I plan on bringing this sucker back, and it’s going to be BETTER THAN EVER.

Okay, so in other news: I moved! That’s right. I moved from the north Texas ‘burbs to a small town in the deep south working as a reporter for a newspaper. That’s pretty much as specific as I’d like to be on the Internet. I mean, you already have my name. WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT FROM ME, INTERNET?!

As for the place…the town is pretty sweet. Everyone has been super nice in helping me get acclimated. Maybe it’s just because it’s the kind of small town where everyone knows everyone else, but I feel very welcomed. But a couple of things I have noticed so far:

This state has a really weird political disconnect. And what I mean is, all of the local elected officials are democrats, but all the national officials for the state are republicans. It’s very odd. I guess it’s kind of like New Jersey having a republican for a governor while all of its senators and representatives are democrats. But I have a funny story about the politics here. During my first couple weeks here, I met the head of the county government. He was a really nice guy. Very personable and very welcoming. One of my first conversations with him was about politics — particularly national politics. He told me he was a democrat and that he voted for Obama in 2008. He also told me that he believed Obama was doing a great job. And then he said:

All the republicans in the House are racist.

THAT’S WHAT HE SAID. I shit you not, he believes that all the republicans in the House are racist, and that’s why they refuse to work with President Obama. It took everything inside of me not to laugh my butt off when he expressed this belief because he had this really serious expression, and I knew it would be a mistake to do anything but nod and smile.

But really. I never, ever, EVER in my life expected an OLD WHITE DUDE FROM THE SOUTH to pull the political race card. It may or may not have made my day.

Southern gentlemen still exist. And it’s awesome. Case in point: I went to a karaoke bar last night with four of my girl friends. All of the tables were filled, so we stood by the bar with our drinks, waiting until a table opened up. Twenty minutes into our night, we spotted an empty. We wandered over there and sat ourselves, but there were lines of shot glasses and packs of cigarettes still on the table, so we weren’t entirely sure that the people previously sitting there weren’t planning on returning. But we were in heels, so we sat anyway.

Sure enough, ten minutes later one of the guys who had been sitting there came back and noticed that his table had been commandeered by five women. We apologized and offered to give him his table back, but he shook his head and said, “No, of course not. Ya’all are women. I should have offered it to you in the first place.” What a gentleman.

Adulthood isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. No, but really. I know I bitch more than anyone about how much it sucks to be an adult and have responsibilities, etc., but now that I’m living on my own in a fabulous apartment with an amazing job in an interesting town, I don’t think it’s so bad. The tasks that used to stress me out now only give me a sense of purpose. Like finding affordable renter’s insurance, or switching my license. But to be fair, I’ve switched my license so many times within the past two years that it’s almost become a hobby for me.

But what I really kind of dig now is the routine, and I don’t have to worry about my family fucking up my routine. For example, I go to work at a set time every morning. I spend my Saturday mornings and afternoons cleaning and running errands, then I spend my Saturday evenings out with my girls. And then I spend my Sundays being as lazy as humanly possible. This is the first time I’ve had an adult routine, and I really like it.

However, I can’t live without the Internet. I spent the first couple of weeks here without Internet, and let me tell you: I was ready to throw in the towel and move back home.

It’s almost sad how dependent I’ve become on the Internet. But honestly, I don’t want to go back.

Leave a Reply

